people

The SPAN Group is an interdisciplinary research team, bringing together faculty and students from the Viterbi School of Engineering, and the Departments of Linguistics, and Computer Science. Our work involves collaborations with researchers in the Departments of Psychology and the Keck School of Medicine, and with other research institutions including Haskins Laboratories.

faculty

Shrikanth Narayanan
Niki & C. L. Max Nikias Chair in Engineering
USC Electrical Engineering
213-740-6432
shri@sipi.usc.edu
Louis Goldstein
Professor of Linguistics
USC Linguistics
213-821-4150
louisgol@usc.edu
Dani Byrd
Professor of Linguistics
USC Linguistics
213-740-2444
dbyrd@usc.edu
Krishna Nayak
Professor
USC Electrical Engineering
213-740-3494
knayak@usc.edu
Rachel Walker
Professor of Linguistics
USC Linguistics
213-740-3674
rwalker@usc.edu
Khalil Iskarous
Assistant Professor
USC Linguistics
kiskarou@usc.edu
Sungbok Lee
Research Assistant Professor
USC Electrical Engineering
213-821-2721
sungbokl@usc.edu

research staff

Asterios Toutios
Research Associate
USC Electrical Engineering
213-740-4148
toutios@usc.edu

phd students

Caitlin Smith
USC Linguistics
smithcm@usc.edu
Colin Vaz
USC Electrical Engineering
cvaz@usc.edu
Cynthia (Yoonjeong) Lee
USC Linguistics
yoonjeol@usc.edu
Samantha Gordon
USC Linguistics
sfgordon@usc.edu
Reed Blaylock
USC Linguistics
gblayloc@usc.edu
Mairym Lloréns Monteserín
USC Linguistics
llorensm@usc.edu
Zisis Iason Skordilis
USC Electrical Engineering
zisis.skordilis@gmail.com
Maury Lander-Portnoy
USC Linguistics
landerpo@usc.edu
Yongwan Lim
USC Electrical Engineering
yongwanl@usc.edu
Krishna Somandepalli
USC Electrical Engineering
somandep@usc.edu
Tanner Sorensen
USC Linguistics
tsorense@usc.edu
Sarah Harper
USC Linguistics
skharper@usc.edu
Miran Oh
USC Linguistics
miranoh@usc.edu

undergraduates

Nimisha Patil
USC Biomedical Engineering
nimishhp@usc.edu
Rachel Alexander
USC Computer Science
rachela@usc.edu

alumni

Yoon-Chul Kim (PhD Student 2006-2010, Postdoc 2011-2014)
Research Scientist
Samsung Medical Center, Seoul, South Korea
yoonc.kim@samsung.com
Michael Proctor (Postdoc 2009-2012)
Lecturer
Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia
michael.proctor@mq.edu.au
Nassos Katsamanis (Postdoc 2009-2012)
Research Associate
National Technical University of Athens, Greece
nkatsam@cs.ntua.gr
Johannes Töger (Postdoc 2015-2016)
Postdoctoral Medical Imaging Researcher
Region Skåne, Lund, Sweden
johannes.toger@med.lu.sebr
Sajan Goud Lingala (Postdoc 2014-2017)
Senior Research Scientist
Siemens Healthineers
sajangoud@gmail.com
Erik Bresch (PhD Student 2005-2011)
Research Scientist
Philips, Corporate Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
erik.bresch@gmail.com
Prasanta Kumar Ghosh (PhD Student 2006-2011)
Assistant Professor
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
prasantg@ee.iisc.ernet.in
Adam Lammert (PhD Student 2008-2014)
Technical Staff
Bioengineering Systems and Technologies, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
adam.lammert@ll.mit.edu
Vikram Ramanarayanan (PhD Student 2009-2014)
Associate Research Scientist
Education Testing Services, San Francisco, CA
vramanarayanan@ets.org
Ben Parrell (PhD Student 2007-2014)
Assistant Professor
Linguistics and Cognitive Science, University of Delaware
parrell@udel.edu
Yinghua Zhu (PhD Student 2010-2015)
Software Engineer
Google Inc.
zhuyinghua1203@gmail.com
Christina Hagedorn (PhD Student 2009-2015)
Assistant Professor
City University of New York
christina.m.hagedorn@gmail.com
Jangwon Kim (PhD Student 2010-2015)
Research Scientist
Cobalt Speech and Language Inc.
jangwon@cobaltspeech.com
Fang-Ying Hsieh (PhD Student 2011-2016)
fangyinh@usc.edu