team

SPAN is an interdisciplinary research team at the University of Southern California, bringing together faculty and students from the Viterbi School of Engineering, and the Department of Linguistics. Our work involves collaborations with researchers in the Departments of Psychology and the Keck School of Medicine, and with other research institutions including Haskins Laboratories.

faculty

Shrikanth Narayanan
Niki & C. L. Max Nikias Chair in Engineering
USC Electrical Engineering
213-740-6432
shri@sipi.usc.edu
Louis Goldstein
Professor of Linguistics
USC Linguistics
213-821-4150
louisgol@usc.edu
Dani Byrd
Professor of Linguistics
USC Linguistics
213-740-2444
dbyrd@usc.edu
Krishna Nayak
Professor
USC Electrical Engineering
213-740-3494
knayak@usc.edu
Rachel Walker
Professor of Linguistics
USC Linguistics
213-740-3674
rwalker@usc.edu
Khalil Iskarous
Associate Professor of Linguistics
USC Linguistics
kiskarou@usc.edu
Uttam Sinha
Associate Professor
USC Otolaryngology & Head and Neck Surgery
sinha@usc.edu
Asterios Toutios
Research Assistant Professor
USC Electrical Engineering
213-740-4148
toutios@usc.edu

phd students

Tanner Sorensen
USC Linguistics
tsorense@usc.edu
Yongwan Lim
USC Electrical Engineering
yongwanl@usc.edu
Miran Oh
USC Linguistics
miranoh@usc.edu
Reed Blaylock
USC Linguistics
gblayloc@usc.edu
Krishna Somandepalli
USC Electrical Engineering
somandep@usc.edu
Sarah Harper
USC Linguistics
skharper@usc.edu
Rahul Sharma
USC Electrical Engineering
rahul.sharma@usc.edu
Yijing Lu
USC Linguistics
yijinglu@usc.edu
Ziwei Zhao
USC Electrical Engineering
ziweiz@usc.edu
Ecem Bozkurt
USC Electrical Engineering
bozkurt@usc.edu

ms students

Melissa Xu
Keck School of Medicine of USC
melissax@usc.edu

former members

Sungbok Lee (Research Assistant Professor 2002-2017)
Yoon-Chul Kim (PhD Student 2006-2010, Postdoc 2011-2014)
Research Scientist
Samsung Medical Center, Seoul, South Korea
yoonc.kim@samsung.com
Michael Proctor (Postdoc 2009-2012)
Lecturer
Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia
michael.proctor@mq.edu.au
Nassos Katsamanis (Postdoc 2009-2012)
VP of Engineering, Behavioral Signals
Principal Researcher, Athena Research Center
nkatsam@gmail.com
Sajan Goud Lingala (Postdoc 2014-2017)
Assistant Professor
Department of Biomedical Engineering and Department of Radiology, University of Iowa
sajangoud-lingala@uiowa.edu
Johannes Töger (Postdoc 2015-2016)
Postdoctoral Medical Imaging Researcher
Region Skåne, Lund, Sweden
johannes.toger@med.lu.sebr
Samantha Gordon Danner (PhD Student and Postdoc, 2014-2019)
Special Project Manager
USC Viterbi School of Engineering
Erik Bresch (PhD Student 2005-2011)
Research Scientist
Philips, Corporate Research, Eindhoven, The Netherlands
erik.bresch@gmail.com
Prasanta Kumar Ghosh (PhD Student 2006-2011)
Assistant Professor
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
prasantg@ee.iisc.ernet.in
Adam Lammert (PhD Student 2008-2014)
Assistant Professor
Biomedical Engineering, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Vikram Ramanarayanan (PhD Student 2009-2014)
Research Scientist
Education Testing Services, San Francisco, CA
vramanarayanan@ets.org
Benjamin Parrell (PhD Student 2007-2014)
Assistant Professor
Communication Sciences and Disorders, University of Wisconsin-Madison
bparrell@wisc.edu
Yinghua Zhu (PhD Student 2010-2015)
Software Engineer
Google Inc.
zhuyinghua1203@gmail.com
Christina Hagedorn (PhD Student 2009-2015)
Assistant Professor
City University of New York
christina.m.hagedorn@gmail.com
Jangwon Kim (PhD Student 2010-2015)
Applied Scientist
Amazon Alexa
jangwok@amazon.com
Fang-Ying Hsieh (PhD Student 2011-2016)
Linguist Specialist
Oben Inc.
Cynthia (Yoonjeong) Lee (PhD Student, 2012-2018)
Postdoctoral Scholar
Department of Head and Neck Surgery, UCLA
yoonjeonglee@ucla.edu
Caitlin Smith (PhD Student, 2011-2018)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Cognitive Science, Johns Hopkins University
Colin Vaz (PhD Student, 2011-2018)
Senior Machine Learning Engineer
Behavioral Signals
colinvaz@gmail.com
Weiyi "Wayne" Chen (PhD Student, 2014-2019)
Li Hsuan Lu (Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2011-2014)
Software Engineer
LeanTaaS, Santa Clara, CA
Nimisha Patil (Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2015-2017)
Associate Mechanical Design Engineer
Medtronic Diabetes, Northridge, CA
Rachel Alexander (Undergraduate Research Assistant, 2015-2019)
Software Engineer
Google Inc.